One of the first questions folks charged with criminal domestic violence want to know is, what potential punishment do I face? A South Carolina criminal defense attorney answers that question, and tells you why you should never give up on your case.
Hey folks, we're talking about the degrees of criminal domestic violence and their penalties in South Carolina criminal. Domestic violence, also called CDV, is charged based on the severity of the accusation as shown by the degrees set by law. The lowest level of CDV is CDV third degree. It’s a misdemeanor, but it carries a penalty of up to 90 days in jail and a fine from $1,000 to $2,500. Now what you got to remember about these fines is they're often more than doubled by court costs and assessments. So the next level of CDV is CDV second-degree. That’s also a misdemeanor but it carries prison of up to three years and a $5,000 fine. Then there's CDV first-degree, that’s a felony. It carries up to 10 years. Finally, we have CDV high and aggravated that's a felony carrying up to 20 years.
If you've been charged with a domestic violence it can seem like the whole worlds against you. Your spouse your partner the police and certainly the prosecutor. You need an experienced criminal defense attorney to level the playing field for you and build a strong defense, and if you think you're guilty don't give up. You may have legal options that can get the case dismissed and get the charge wiped off your record. But you're gonna need a skilled attorney to help you do that. If you've been charged with domestic violence call us right now at 888-230-1841 to set up a free strategy session to get your questions answered and start building the defense. I thank you for thinking about this with me and I hope I see you soon.